Taking a Christmas Coffee Break

Written by Lori Thiessen

As the season bears down upon us, the question on most people’s lips is: How will I survive this season?

Now I find the question highly ironic because Christmas is supposed to be about love, joy, peace and goodwill to one’s fellow creatures.

The way Western North Americans do it (everything to excess) is kinda crazy and that craziness can be hard to handle.

My solution: Take a coffee break. Heck, take more than one.

Get out your daytimer or PDA and schedule some coffee breaks for yourself to slow down and reflect on the true meaning of Christmas.  This is especially true if you are on vacation during the Christmas season.

I know I can’t make nice for extended periods of time, no matter how wonderful the company. I need my down time. I need my alone time. Otherwise, I may end up saying stuff that will haunt me for many Christmases to come.

So I’m planning on taking breaks. I’ll wander down to my local caffeinated joint and indulge perhaps in a seasonal coffee, like an eggnog latte. I may bring my journal with me or a book, but most of all, I’ll bring with me a sense of doing something good for myself.

Q: How will you be handling the pressures of the holiday season this year?

Until Next Time,

May Your Coffee Always Be Freshly Brewed!

Leave a Reply

