How to Make Coffee the Old-Fashioned Way

Written by Lori Thiessen

These days we are used to seeing coffee made almost as if by magic. Domestic coffee makers are push-button efficient and the professional coffee makers are overseen by those conjurers of coffee, the barista.

But coffee wasn’t always such a fast and fun process. In the coffeehouses of the 17th century, coffee making was a lengthy and skilful process. First the coffee beans were bought in their unroasted state. Have you ever seen an unroasted coffee bean? I know I haven’t.

Then the coffeeman whose job it was to roast the beans to perfection would get the fire started in the grate and pour a handful of beans into the barrel-shaped roaster. Round and round the handle went until the beans were roasted. However, due to the technology, the beans would likely be a mixture of warmed green beans, burnt black beans, and half roasted, half warm beans. The author, Jonathan Swift, had so little trust in the coffeeman’s ability to roast the beans well, he would often do the roasting himself when he wanted a cup of coffee. The landlady of the establishment didn’t take offense apparently. Celebrity has its advantages, even then apparently.

The freshly roasted beans would be put into a grinder and one of the coffee lads would grind away until they were mostly crushed. Water would be on the hob, boiling away in preparation for receiving the beans. The ratio of ground coffee to water was quite varied, but generally speaking it was something like 1 part coffee to 12 parts water. If it was a slow day, the coffee was saved and re-heated over and over again. Freshly brewed coffee was a fairly rare occurrence.

It produced a weak and watery brew that would be quite unrecognizable to any self-respecting modern day coffee drinker. Remember the show “Black Adder”? In the third series, which took place in 18th England, Blackadder walks into Mrs. Miggins Coffeehouse and orders, “Your best hot water with brown grit in it.” And that’s a pretty fair assessment of what coffee was really like back then.

Q; What is your favourite kind of coffee?

Until Next Time,

May your coffee always be freshly brewed!

20 responses to “How to Make Coffee the Old-Fashioned Way

  1. I all the time used to read post in news papers but now as I am a user of internet so from now I am using net
    for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  2. You really make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually one thing which
    I feel I would by no means understand. It seems too complicated and extremely
    wide for me. I am having a look forward for your subsequent publish, I’ll attempt to get the hang of it!

  3. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to provide something back and aid others like you aided me.

  4. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

  5. Great to meet you folks, i’m something of a bath room decorations enthusiast. So I personally had been discovering this write-up and truly loved it. It provides many really good insights that I can soak up. I have got to state, I’ve
    truly become depressed recently since my best mate no longer is around.

    Checking the internet gives me some piece of mind though.
    I would love to say thank you to you in this
    incredibly good website write-up which helps
    to send out the word with regard to rest room models even more!
    I actually was curious as to if you provide rss opt-in
    list so I could at all times keep current here.

  6. It’s an awesome article for all the web users; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  7. Piece of writing writing is also a excitement, if you know after that you can
    write if not it is difficult to write.

  8. I read this piece of writing completely concerning the difference of latest
    and previous technologies, it’s amazing article.

  9. Someone necessarily help to make critically posts I would state.
    That is the first time I frequented your website page
    and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this actual post incredible.
    Fantastic job!

  10. My brother suggested I might like this website. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply
    how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  11. This version of D&D focuses more on character placement on grids and tiles, making
    it more like a tabletop miniature game and very suitable to be turned into a board game.
    Some are easy and obvious while some are tricky and actually be fairly hard
    to guess. Sometimes it’s just because you
    stumbled into the wrong neighborhood.

  12. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a
    new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a wonderful
    job!

  13. Me impresiona la cantidad de informacio ,con el tiempo es difícil localizar cosas como esta visitare tu pagina en busca de mas

  14. Most of these are constructed by independent game makers who
    use a particular sort of application to create their finished item.
    com, and can be followed on Twitter @Nintendo_Legend.
    In order to escape the castle, you need the courage to take
    risks.

  15. You want people to find what they are looking for, which
    means you have to stay fresh. This is far from the truth; take the example of HLL in our country a company
    that has over 10,000 crs in turnover to have decided to enter into Network Marketing.
    If you are heavily promoting items that are not good or
    spamming your page with every type of program imaginable, people will stop coming.

  16. You can certainly see your expertise within the work you
    write. The world hopes for even more passionate
    writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe.
    Always go after your heart.

  17. Man sollte vorher eine klare Absprache treffen, zum Beispiel sollte man bei der Oma zu Hause ihre Regeln gelten lassen, wenn diese allein mit den Kindern ist.

  18. Bartens zufolge gibt es oft auch eine Diskrepanz zwischen dem, was
    Menschen als gesund erleben und dem, was die Medizin daraus macht.

  19. 引っ越しを行って一人暮らしをする場合には、単身用のパックを頼む方がお得になる場合が多いです。もし、大型の家具や家電を新しく買い揃えるならば、業者に頼まずとも、引越しを行えるかもしれません。

    一人暮らしのために、誰も来てもらわずに一人で引っ越しを決行したのです。バカげた事をしてしまいました。ヤマトの単身引っ越しパックが実用的だと友人が会話していました。独り身での引っ越しは、自身と家族だけでやった方がお金も安く済むしコスパがよいと思うかもしれません。

    でも、本当は大物を運ぶには人でも力も必要ですしすごく時間と手間を必要とするのです。それならば、引っ越し業者の単身パックを利用した方がコストダウンできますし、早く楽にできるので、お勧めです。

  20. I always prepare coffee Turkish style…that is old fashion style:) That’s the only way I drink it.

Leave a Reply

