How many ways can you say coffee?

Written by Lori Thiessen

When you go into a coffee shop to order a cup of coffee, what do you call it? Here’s a list of names that coffee has been called:

  • Cuppa
  • Cuppa Joe
  • Java
  • Cafe
  • Devil’s Drink (17th century name)
  • Black brew
  • Hojo
  • Mud (as in “here’s mud in your eye!”)
  • Black gold
  • Picker-upper
  • Turks Berry Drink (17th century name)
  • Wine of Islam (17th century name)
  • Mud puddle buzz (Australian slang)
  • Everton Toffee (Cockney rhyming slang, usually just referred to as Everton)
  • Fully leaded or unleaded (caffeinated or decaffeinated, respectively)
  • My caffeine fix

This is just a quick list about just plain old coffee. I’ll tackle the different kinds of coffee on another entry. But let me know if there is anything missing from the list! I’d love to hear about it.

Until next time,

May your coffee (or whatever you call it) always be freshly brewed!

5 responses to “How many ways can you say coffee?

  1. I love a good cup of joe in the morning!

  2. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  3. I blog quite often and I truly appreciate your information. The article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    details about once per week. I subscribed to your
    RSS feed as well.

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site.

    You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Kudos!

  5. Higher stress levels are often associated with poor nutrition and a lack of proper exercise.
    He leads a very busy life and needs snack foods of some sort.
    This micronutrient is also stored in the body over a longer period than the C and the B group,
    so you probably use your summer stocks over the duller months.

Leave a Reply

